Guest MrSako Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 (edited) Question: During the Response Phase, do you have to declare that you are using a skill or jutsu instead of (before) the dodge roll... OR Can you wait and see if you failed the dodge roll and then declare that you are using a skill or jutsu? Edited March 11, 2006 by MrSako Quote
Maelstrom Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 I'm not part of the staff or anything, so don't quote me directly, but I was under the impression that you -could- actually roll first to see if you dodged normally, and then use a skill. Otherwise, you'd just be taking the hit willingly and wasting a jutsu/skill. Quote
Hardcore Skittlez Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 Just a little semi-related question: So, for a technique like Kage Buyou, that makes the opponent skip their response phase, does that mean they can not dodge the next attack? Quote
Maelstrom Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 Yes, if they lose their response phase then they're sitting ducks. However, they may use a skill such as Iron Will to negate the damage, and perhaps another jutsu that involves taking the hit directly, one of those Nirvana taijutsu that I had a problem with earlier. Quote
Guest MrSako Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 no, skipping your response phase is different than "you may not use a dodge roll in your response phase" in which you may -NOT- use a skill or Jutsu to evade/negate/etc the next attack Quote
Maelstrom Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 You might be right, and I myself didn't use that strategy, it was used once against me. -.-; Anyway, I'd like to know the staff's final ruling on that as well. Quote
Arashi Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 ~Response PhaseIn the beginning of a player's turn, if they were attacked, they get a Response Phase before the Main Phase. This is where you see if you dodged or not. You can also use a technique here to counter or dodge the attack (Ex. Body Substitute Technique). During the Response Phase a player can choose to... 1. Take the attack without rolling. 2. Roll to see if they dodge/ block. You roll for every attack they did, so for each of the three attacks in he example. 3. Use a tech to dodge/ counter the attack or increase dodge. So, you have to choose if you dodges OR if you uses a jutsu to dodge the attack. You can use a skill (i.e. "knowing the elements") after a failed dodge, but not a jutsu. Quote
Matthias Drake Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 Er, I was under the impression that Maelstromw as right. But I guess not... As for Poke's question, you actually can't dodge if you lose your response phase. Quote
Maelstrom Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 But couldn't you still use a skill like 'Iron Will' to negate the damage, since you're taking the attack head on? Quote
Arashi Posted March 11, 2006 Posted March 11, 2006 You can use a skill (i.e. "knowing the elements") after a failed dodge, but not a jutsu. <{POST_SNAPBACK}> Read. Youcan still use it if you loose your reponse phase, as it's not technically one of the action you uses in the response phase. Quote